Day 2 – Old Key West

So after our disrupted night I slept pretty well until 5am but then I was awake. Everyone else was fast asleep so I updated my trip report and then around 6:30 I decided to sneak out and watch the sunrise. As I left the room I could see the sun was just coming up. We were on the ground floor very near the beach. But I just couldn’t get there. I tried to go directly from our room what seemed the shortest way and ended up in a carpark on the wrong side of a jug fence. So I had to go back through the hotel and out through the beach bar.

By the time I’d done the that the sun was just up. I should have gone out a bit earlier but if was a last minute idea.

I stood for a while and then headed back to the room. I stopped by Starbucks to get some coffee but they weren’t accepting cards and I hadn’t got any cash. So I went back to the room for some cash. Everyone was now awake. I guess I didn’t sneak as quietly as I’d intended!

I grabbed my cash and went to Starbucks where I got 2 coffees.

We got ourselves up very slowly and packed up and went to check out. I mentioned the room issues at checkout. She said because I had booked with Hotwire she couldn’t give me any sort of refund but we could have breakfast. We’d already decided on Friendlys for breakfast so I just let it go and we headed out.

From the website but our room looked like this before we got there!

I have to say I wasn’t at all impressed with the Crowne Plaza. I was under the impression that this was a more luxury chain but our hotel room was no more comfortable than a Premier Inn. We were in a outside block which had motel style corridors which I wasn’t expecting as the website suggests that all the rooms have balconies. It didn’t help that there was a huge storm as we arrived and we had to go back and forth between the two buildings under a walkway that didn’t really protect you from the rain.

I did like staying in Melbourne and driving over in the morning but I’d pick a cheaper hotel next time.

Anyway. We went to Friendlys which was about 5 minutes away. I was very excited for pancakes and they didn’t disappoint!

It turns out it was Founders day at Friendlys so they have us coupons for free ice creams and then we were given free t-shirts!

After breakfast we popped into Walmart and I bought some shorts. I have some from years ago that I like and I wanted to see if I could get the same pair again. I was struggling to find them but a sales assistant knew exactly which ones I wanted and so I was pleased to get a pair.

We then drove over to Orlando. The drive over was fine. It took just over an hour to Target.

Our first stop was Target for some supplies. We picked up a few groceries for breakfast in the room and Katie had a look at the SIM card options but they were all pretty pricey for what she needs. We seem to have much better phone prices in the Uk than they had on offer.

I had planned on some lunch after Target but my timings were all off and we were nowhere near ready for lunch so we headed to Old key west. I went to check in but there was a huge queue and then I realised I could check in via the app.

The app said our room wasn’t ready so we left our refrigerated stuff with Bell Services and went to Magic Kingdom.

As we pulled into the car park the rain was starting and there were signs up saying there were no parking staff outside due to the weather so you could park where you wanted. We grabbed a spot in Scar 416 and then realised that we should have retrieved the ponchos from the cases before we left this morning. There was no way we could get to them without completely unpacking in the car park and the storm was pretty heavy so we decided we would just get wet.

We got a tram to the Ticket and Transport centre and we’re just waved through bag check and onto the boat. The monorail was off due to the weather.

We got the boat over. I can’t say I was feeling much of the highly anticipated Disney magic. I was thinking we must be mad! But what we were was homeless and MK in the rain is better than sitting around old key west waiting for a room.

We walked up Main Street and stopped for a castle photo.

After the photos and a little chat with the photographer we walked around to Pirates which was showing as 20 minutes. We don’t have Genie+ and we’d prefer not to buy it so we are trying to see how it goes without. Midday in a thunderstorm doesn’t really give a true picture though.

As we got to Pirates it was showing a 30 minute wait and it was almost exactly 30 until we rode. While we were in the queue we did a mobile order for Columbia Harbour House so that it would be ready just after we finished our ride.

I love Pirates and we had a sing along with Jack Sparrow. We had a photo taken but we have a photo of other people in our Disney app so I won’t share that with you!

We came out of Pirates to more heavy rain so we manoeuvred our way over to Columbia Harbour house under as much cover as we could find.

Our food was ready just as we arrived and we headed upstairs to our favourite table.

Phil and I each had a bowl of clam chowder and the girls had fries and then we shared two platters which had chicken strips / fish/ shrimp and hush puppies. Even sharing the platters between two there was plenty of food.

After lunch we could see Pooh was posted at 5 minutes. But it was nearly 3 pm so we dithered about watching the parade and then decided we didn’t want to stand and wait for it so we walked round to Pooh. The queue was up to 30 minutes so we have it a miss and kept walking to an old standby. Carousel of progress. This was, of course, a walk on and we were quickly enjoying a ‘Great Big Beautiful Tomorrow’ and I was enjoying a 20 minute sit down in the dark. The early start was catching up with me.

After CoP we went on PeopleMover. This had a bit of a queue but we were on quickly. This ride stopped in the darkest blackest part of space mountain so they turned on some lights. Turns out we we are in a very dark black corridor. .

After people mover I had a message to say our room was ready, so we walked back towards Main Street.

We had a few more photographs taken.

As we approached Main Street we realised the parade was just about to start. It was about 3:45 so I think it had been delayed for the rain.

We found a spot to watch and soak up a bit of that Disney magic. The parade really is a ‘we are here’ moment.

After the parade we walk down through the shops. Stopping to literally Ooh over the Dourney & Bourke bags. There were so many gorgeous ones but the price tag is super scary so we just admired them and moved on.

We went to the photography shop because we wanted to buy Memory Maker. It’s not included in Cast Member tickets but compared to the price of the tickets it’s a bargain.

The cast member in the photo shop told us we needed to go to Guest Services. So we walked over there and bought it, so that we could download the photos. We then had to go back to the photo shop to try abs sort out the Pirates photo. We found our photo quickly and it was added to Katie’s account. But ut seems to have disappeared again so I’m not sure what has happened there. Not to worry.

We headed out of the park and onto the monorail which took us back to the TTC and then a tram to our cat. Scar 416. Except we can’t find the car. I can see the AirTags on my phone but I can’t work out where I am in relation to them. And the car definitely isn’t here. I was so confused and we wander around for a while until we found it in 419! We’d looked at the sign painted on the road upside down!!!

We go back to Old Key West and straight to the room where we can open the door with our phone.

Wow! These rooms are huge. People live in smaller apartments than this. We had chosen OKW mainly because for a last minute booking there wasn’t a lot of choice and we wanted two beds for the girls. But I have to say I am impressed.

The room is gorgeous. Bright, light. Huge. Comfortable. Loads of seating for us all. Full kitchen with full sized appliances including a full sized washer dryer in a utility room.

Phil and I walked over to Hospitality House to get some room keys and pick up our groceries from Bell Services. Using your phone works to open the door but it’s a bit of a risk as one was flat and one couldn’t get a signal so we decided we’d prefer to all have a room key. ( We don’t have any magic bands. We can’t find them from after we moved house. Katie has our park passes but these are separate from our room keys. )

Back in the room we just relax. unpack and chill for a few hours. Katie and Phil went to the store onsite and picked up some frozen pizza and a salad and we ate in the room.

It had been a wet day but a good day. The rain when we arrived at Magic Kingdom was crazy but we just had to laugh. It stopped and started all afternoon but after the tram ride we managed to avoid the worst of it.

One thought on “Day 2 – Old Key West

Leave a comment